School Logo


Message from the Chair


A warm welcome to our website and thank you for your visit.


Our school has been a prominent part of the community for well over one hundred years, opening its doors to children from 4 to 11 years of age, doors which are forever open to those in need of an all-round education.  We are a small school with a big heart!


We are situated in the picturesque Burn Valley, part of the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, 2.5 miles from Masham, between the villages of Fearby and Healey.  Our location not only gives our children opportunities to be close to nature and enjoy the benefits of a small community, but also the scope to enjoy being part of the wider community of the Masham and Bedale area.  Through collaborative work with the Federation of Snape and Thornton Watlass Schools, and membership of the Bedale Schools’ Cluster and the Swaledale Alliance, our pupils benefit from enhanced activities and resources, and our staff share professional expertise and access a broad range of training opportunities.


Our school is led capably and with great enthusiasm by our Head Teacher, Mrs Jane Wood.  She is supported by passionately dedicated teachers, teaching assistants, administrators and support staff.  Together, they work tirelessly to prepare us all for an exciting future.  This drive to provide an outstanding education for our pupils is buttressed by our strong, challenging board of governors, working hard to continually improve standards, facilities and opportunities, as well as our ‘Friends of Kell Bank’ parent group, who raise funds through community projects and activities to provide additional curriculum-enriching resources and educational visits.


In other words, our well-balanced “Kell Bank family” provides a secure, caring, stimulating and challenging education for all our children, inspired by Christian Values.  I am extremely proud to be the Chair of Governors, especially when I step into our school and see the children taking part in a rich and broad education, with enthusiasm and willingness to learn.


Jeff Loveday, Chair of Governors

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor, as well as their business and personal interests.


Type of




Term End












Julian Allen Co-opted 15/05/2019 14/05/2023 - tbc tbc 14% 100%



Co-opted 31/08/2017 30/08/2021 Health & Safety tbc tbc 14% 67%
David Cleeves Foundation 01/06/2001 Ex Officio Vice Chair, SIAMS, PHSE, RE & Collective Worship Governor, Masham Primary School None 86% 100%
Sophie Gore Foundation 02/04/2019 01/04/2023 SEND tbc tbc 57% 67%
Laurie Hoyes Co-opted 15/05/2019 14/05/2023 English, History, Geography, Music None Hoyes Scott Ltd (publishing) 71% 100%
Sarah Jameson Parent 02/07/2019 01/07/2023 Art & DT None None 71% 100%
Jeff Loveday Co-opted 21/09/2017 20/09/2021 Chair, Educational Visits, Safeguarding None None 100% 100%
Lesley Marsden Parent 02/07/2019 01/07/2023 Maths, Computing None None 71% 100%
Moira Marshall Foundation 01/05/2018 30/04/2022 Music, PE None None 57% 67%
Angie MacRae Staff 02/04/2019 01/04/2023 n/a tbc tbc 86% 100%
Shelley Searle Parent 06/10/2020 05/10/2024 Science None None n/a n/a
Jane Wood Executive Head 01/09/2019 n/a n/a None None 100% n/a

Chair and Vice Chair of Governors can be contacted via the school office: 

E-mail: or Telephone: 01765 689410